Yesterday’s News

3 comments
A Story, country life, Poetry, writing

.

Yesterday’s newspaper, thin

hickory strips, strike a

match on the cold

cement

floor. When I was a

kid, men struck

matches on zippered

.

fronts

of Wrangler jeans.

.

Set the kettle on wood

cookstove – pepper, salt,

fry two eggs, ham steaks

in cast-iron.

Slather

toast with spicy

mustard. Pour

boiling water over morning’s

grounds,

plunge, press

.

slow.

Strike another

.

match,

hold it tip

to tip with an 

incense stick – I become

amber –

pine pitch escaping

to the woods with my kid sister;

sandalwood –

college days meeting

hairy-legged

hippy girls

at the food co-op (who knew all girls

.

didn’t

want to be smooth?). See how

.

the smoke

curls, stretches

thin? Just like

grandma’s

white cigarettes burning down orange

ashtray embers between

puffs, as she drank

.

tin

can, pre-ground coffee, and forked

.

bacon from cast-iron. I want

to blow smoke

circles painted

ruddy with lips like hers.

Instead, I lick

mustard off

her old serrated knife.

.

Daily over 

news, coffee and food

I bend

low.

.

.

 

3 thoughts on “Yesterday’s News”

  1. Without ever saying it, your love for the morning ritual bleeds through these images. Oh my, where to begin?
    Maybe with the spicy-mustard slathered toast? I will try this soon.
    plunge, press~that’s how I coffee in the morning, too!
    I become amber-pine pitch~slowly sinking into memories. Linking the smoke swirls of the incense with grandmother’s smoke curls.
    Bending low. Paying homage. Exquisite.

  2. Floyd says:

    Amazing how quickly life gets behind us. Love the recollections of a life, where the simple becomes extraordinary. Well done.

If you have somethin' to say, I reckon this is where you should do it. (If you're a newbie hereabouts, your first comment will be held for approval - cuts down on spam.) Thank ye for chatting!